Country guide · Western Balkans · checked 28.09.2026

EV charging in Albania

Albania's electric-car fleet almost doubled in 2025: Eurostat counts 10,938 battery-electric passenger cars at the end of the year, 91% more than a year earlier, and 5,517 new registrations. New battery-electric cars are VAT-exempt according to the latest source, although sources conflict, and electric vehicles pay no annual vehicle tax. Public charging is young and fragmented: VEGA lists 20+ sites, PlugoAL five 280 kW sites, and the state supplier OSHEE announced a national network for 2026, with no station found operating on 28.09.2026. No network publishes a per-kWh price on its website; OSHEE estimated in November 2025 that charging stations sell electricity at 40–60 lek per kWh. At home, a kilowatt-hour costs 10.2 lek with VAT while the household stays within 700 kWh a month.

Checked 28.09.2026 · 15 sources

AL
Karikimi i makinave elektrike në Shqipëri

The full local guide, in Albanian: a map of public chargers from the open databases, network prices where they are published, a home-charging calculator, subsidies and tax benefits, and travel tips.

Hap udhëzuesin në shqip
EV fleet10,938 battery-electric cars at the end of 2025 (Eurostat), +91% in a year
Public chargingPublic charging: VEGA 20+ sites, PlugoAL 5 × 280 kW; OSHEE plans a national network
SubsidiesNew EVs VAT-free per the latest source (sources conflict); no annual vehicle tax
Home chargersHome electricity 10.2 lek/kWh with VAT up to 700 kWh a month

BlokVolt is run by the team of Evolako, a home-charger installer that works only in Serbia; in Albania BlokVolt sells nothing. Companies here are listed by the same rules as everywhere on the site: only what their own websites say, with the date of the check, no ratings and no paid placements. Every figure below has its source, and weak sources are marked as such.

Key numbers

FigureValueSource
Battery-electric passenger cars on the roadEurostat, all owners. Earlier years: 624 (2021), 1,245 (2022), 2,891 (2023), 5,722 (2024). INSTAT reports the same +91.2% growth for 2025 but gives no absolute number.10,938 (2025)Source: Eurostat – Passenger cars by type of motor energy (road_eqs_carpda) · dataset updated 01.09.2026 · high reliability
New battery-electric passenger cars registered, 2025Eurostat new registrations with energy type 'electricity'. Earlier years: 24 (2019), 239 (2020), 262 (2021), 624 (2022), 1,671 (2023), 2,843 (2024).5,517Source: Eurostat – New registrations of passenger cars by type of motor energy (road_eqr_carpda) · dataset updated 01.09.2026 · high reliability
Electric vehicles registered for the first time, January–July 2026DPSHTRR data as reported: electric vehicles were 40.5% of all zero-kilometre vehicles registered in the first seven months.6,396 (+126%)Source: Ora News – over 6,000 electric vehicles registered in seven months · 18.08.2026 · medium reliability
Registered road vehicles, 2025Passenger cars are 80.8% of all vehicles; 72.1% of passenger cars run on diesel.1,048,092 (+9.3%)Source: INSTAT – Characteristics of road vehicles 2025 · 21.07.2026 · high reliability

Public charging

How many public chargers: more than 254 charging points in operation (OSHEE, November 2025). No official register exists. In the same release OSHEE mentioned about 16,000 registered electric vehicles without saying what it counts; Eurostat has 10,938 battery-electric passenger cars at the end of 2025. The local-language map on this site showed 63 locations on 28.09.2026, merged from OpenStreetMap (54 records) and Open Charge Map (14 records) and not checked one by one. Source: OSHEE – OSHEE Charge presented · 11.11.2025 · medium reliability

NetworkSizePricesPayment
VEGA ChargingVega Group20+ operating locations and 50+ planned, per the operator's list: fuel stations (Gega Oil, 7K Krasniqi, Lagjina Oil and others), hotels and malls in Durrës, Tirana/Vorë, Fier, Elbasan, Vlorë, Lukovë, Rrogozhinë, Lushnjë, Gjirokastër, Rubik and Shkodër; Sarandë and Korçë opening soon. DC 60–180 kW with GB/T and CCS2 sockets, AC 22 kW.
Per kWh not published on the website
VEGA Charging card (RFID), requested through vegagroup.al or by phone; other payment methods not published
PlugoALRENT & GO SHPK, TiranaApp: PlugoAL web app (QR code, no download)5 sites with 280 kW CCS2 chargers (Tirana, Durrës, Vlorë, Gjirokastër, Shkodër); addresses not published on the homepage
Per kWh shown only in the app before charging; may vary by time of day, location and charger type VAT included (20%, per PlugoAL)Source: plugoal.com · payment policy version 1.0, effective 10.08.2026 · high reliability
Idle fee 500 lek if the car stays connected more than 20 minutes after charging endsSource: plugoal.com · terms effective February 2026; checked 28.09.2026 · high reliability
Web app: Visa or Mastercard, or a prepaid PlugoAL wallet (minimum top-up 500 lek); RFID card for business customers only
OSHEE Charge (planned)OSHEE Group (state electricity supplier)Announced on 11.11.2025 as a national network to be built within 2026; no operating station found on 28.09.2026. The first site is to have 10 charging towers for 20 cars (government statements, 10.11.2025), described as on the Unaza e Re ring road or near the TEG mall towards Farkë.
Per kWh not announced; the Prime Minister said on 16.11.2025 that public stations will have a regulated price (no figure given)
—
iChargeEV Tools Ltd, United Kingdom (app platform)App: iCharge.appPlatform used by several station owners, not a single operator; no Albania-only station count published
Per kWh shown in the app before charging
In the app by debit or credit card, iCharge balance or prepaid vouchers; cash at some UPay points

Electricity at home

What a kilowatt-hour costs at home — the number to compare with public charging.

TariffPriceSource
Households, up to 700 kWh a monthERE decision no. 322 of 15.12.2025, valid 1 January–31 December 2026. One price per block, with no day/night difference and no fixed monthly charge in the table. The ERE table does not mention VAT; media reports (Panorama, 01.02.2025) say these prices exclude VAT and 20% is added.8.5 lek/kWh without VAT (10.2 with 20% VAT)Source: ERE – electricity and gas tariffs 2026 · 24.12.2025 · high reliability
Households, above 700 kWh a monthFrom 701 kWh the higher price applies to the whole month, not only to the kWh above the threshold. Example (calculated, VAT included): a household using 550 kWh adds 200 kWh of charging and its bill rises from 5,610 to 8,550 lek, which works out at 14.7 lek per EV kWh.9.5 lek/kWh without VAT (11.4 with VAT) for the whole month's consumptionSource: ERE – electricity and gas tariffs 2026 · 24.12.2025 · high reliability
Public charging, what drivers pay (OSHEE's estimate)OSHEE's market estimate, about three times its 14 lek/kWh purchase cost; VAT not stated and no network publishes a price. Operators of chargers above 11 kW buy electricity at 22 lek/kWh, 25.3 at peak (18–22 h November–March, 19–23 h April–October), under ERE decision no. 255 from 01.11.2025; VAT not stated. The 22 lek/kWh the government mentioned for OSHEE Charge on 10.11.2025 is this supply tariff, not a price for drivers.about 40–60 lek/kWhSource: OSHEE – OSHEE Charge presented · 11.11.2025 · medium reliability
Fuel for comparison (maximum prices from 22.09.2026)Maximum retail prices set by the Transparency Board, in force from 22.09.2026 12:00; the reports do not say whether VAT is included or which petrol grade is meant.diesel 213 lek/l, petrol 193 lek/lSource: Albeu – Transparency Board sets new fuel price limits · 22.09.2026 · medium reliability

Subsidies

Open VAT exemption for new battery-electric vehicles

Amount: 20% VAT not charged at import or first sale

Who: Buyers of new, zero-km battery-electric vehicles never registered in any country (not used EVs or hybrids)

Latest source: ALTAX (23.10.2024), citing Law 92/2014 on VAT, art. 51(p); the law text itself could not be read. Albanian Customs says VAT on imports of new electric cars was removed in 2020 (543 cars imported VAT-free in 2020–2022). Sources conflict: a government statement reported by Albeu (20.04.2022) spoke of a cut from 20% to 6%, and the Ministry of Finance's 2024 fiscal bulletin lists only a 6% rate for electric buses. Customs duty on cars consists only of VAT; no EV-specific excise rule was found.

Source: ALTAX – VAT treatment of electric vehicles · 23.10.2024 · medium reliability
Open Exemption from the annual vehicle tax (TVMP)

Amount: full exemption

Who: Electric vehicles

DPSHTRR lists electric vehicles among the exempt vehicles without citing the legal act; vehicles aged 0–3 years are also exempt.

Source: DPSHTRR – vehicles exempt from the annual tax · no date on page; checked 28.09.2026 · high reliability
Unconfirmed Refund of first-registration fees

Amount: 7,500 lek in total: physical inspection 1,500, circulation permit 1,000, standard plates 3,000, ownership certificate 2,000

Who: Electric and plug-in vehicles at first registration, since November 2019

Reported on 15.10.2019; Business Magazine Albania (21.04.2022) says the refund applies from November 2019. Basis cited: Council of Ministers decision no. 412 of 19.06.2019. Not confirmed for 2026: the DPSHTRR registration page does not mention electric vehicles, and the latest source repeating the refund is a government statement of 20.04.2022.

Source: Shqiptarja.com – Albania removes fees for electric vehicles · 15.10.2019 · low reliability
No scheme Purchase grant

No purchase subsidy found for 2026, and no municipal benefit (free parking, bus lanes, taxi relief) found in Tirana (checked 28.09.2026). A DPSHTRR page on electric taxis mentions reduced taxes without citing a legal act.

Charging in an apartment building

What the law says about a charger in a shared garage or parking lot — who has to agree, who pays for the electricity and how it is metered.

Apartment buildings

Albania's co-ownership law does not mention EV chargers, garages as such, or an owner's right to install a charger at their own cost. Parking areas and basements are common property unless the ownership act says otherwise (art. 6(2)). Ordinary improvements need a majority of participation quotas (art. 39(1)); major installations such as heating systems, lifts, generators and 'other improvements of this nature' need at least 75% (art. 39(2)); changing the look of common parts needs prior written approval by a simple majority of votes and must follow planning law (art. 40(2)–(3)). Which rule applies to a charger in a shared garage is not stated.

Law: Ligji nr. 55/2025 'Për administrimin e bashkëpronësisë në ndërtesa', adopted 03.07.2025 (Decree no. 282 of 30.07.2025); it repealed Law 10 112/2009 and enters into force 15 days after publication in the Official Journal

Source: Law no. 55/2025 on the administration of co-ownership in buildings · 30.07.2025 · high reliability

National plans and EU rules

  • The draft National Energy and Climate Plan, put to public consultation, aims for 10% of vehicles in circulation to be electric by 2030 and plans chargers on national roads, at border crossings and in tourist areas; its adoption was not verified. Source: shqiptarja.com · 04.01.2025 · medium reliability
  • The Albanian Energy Efficiency Agency tendered the installation and operation of public chargers in eight cities and near border crossings (83.3 million lek) in June 2023; the outcome was not verified. Source: albanianpost.com · 07.06.2023 · medium reliability
  • No Albanian law or draft law on charging or alternative-fuel infrastructure, and no act aligning with the EU AFIR regulation, was found. checked 28.09.2026 · medium reliability

What could not be verified

Known gaps. If you can fill one with a public source, write to hello@blokvolt.com.

  • No network publishes a per-kWh price on its website: PlugoAL and iCharge show prices only in their apps, VEGA and DAB Energy publish none, and OSHEE Charge has announced no price.
  • Site counts per network could not be verified in Open Charge Map (API blocked).
  • No source says how many of Albania's electric cars were imported used; INSTAT and DPSHTRR give no end-2025 total, and OSHEE's figure of about 16,000 electric vehicles (November 2025) is not reconciled with Eurostat's 10,938.
  • VAT on new electric cars: the text of Law 92/2014, art. 51 could not be read, and sources conflict (exemption per Customs and ALTAX; a cut from 20% to 6% per a 2022 government statement).
  • Household VAT: the 20% added to the ERE prices comes from media reports; the ERE table does not state it.
  • A1 (Rruga e Kombit) toll: the official car tariff is €5 with VAT (ATRAKO, undated), payable in lek at the Bank of Albania rate of the day; the 660 lek reported for payment in lek (Timoni.al 2024, tolls.eu 2026) is not confirmed by an official source.
  • VEGA's DC chargers have both GB/T and CCS2 sockets, but no source says how many cars in Albania use GB/T.
  • No fast charger on the A1 (Rruga e Kombit) itself was confirmed.
  • OSHEE Charge: no operating station was found on 28.09.2026; a first-phase figure of 100–120 stations appears only in an opinion article (Shqiptarja, 16.11.2025).

Something changed or is missing? Data is corrected from public sources and on request — free, by the same rules for everyone. Send the correction with a link to hello@blokvolt.com.

Other countries: Serbia · Montenegro · Bosnia and Herzegovina · North Macedonia · Croatia · Slovenia · Kosovo