Guide · Western Balkans · checked 28.09.2026

EV charging in Kosovo

Kosovo had 1,457 battery-electric passenger cars at the end of 2025 (Eurostat), 51% more than a year earlier, and 539 new ones were registered that year. Imports are rising: 780 electric cars came in during January–August 2026, 665 of them from China. Electric cars get no tax break — they pay the same import taxes as petrol and diesel cars: 10% customs duty, 18% VAT and, on used cars, excise by age. ECHARGE is the only network that publishes prices: €0.39–0.49 per kWh on DC and €0.21 (day) / €0.19 (night) on AC, without saying whether VAT is included. At home, night-rate electricity costs about 4.2 euro cents per kWh with VAT while the household stays within 800 kWh a month.

Checked 28.09.2026 · 12 sources

XK
Karikimi i veturave elektrike në Kosovë

The full local guide, in Albanian: a map of public chargers from the open databases, network prices where they are published, a home-charging calculator, subsidies and tax benefits, and travel tips.

Hap udhëzuesin në shqip
EV fleet1,457 battery-electric cars at the end of 2025 (Eurostat)
Public chargingECHARGE: 24+ sites in Kosovo and Albania, DC €0.39–0.49 per kWh
SubsidiesNo tax relief: 10% customs and 18% VAT, as for petrol and diesel cars
Home chargersNight-rate home electricity about 4.2 euro cents per kWh

BlokVolt is run by the team of Evolako, a home-charger installer that works only in Serbia; in Kosovo BlokVolt sells nothing. Companies here are listed by the same rules as everywhere on the site: only what their own websites say, with the date of the check, no ratings and no paid placements. Every figure below has its source, and weak sources are marked as such.

Key numbers

FigureValueSource
Battery-electric passenger cars on the roadEurostat, all owners. Earlier years: 56 (2021), 503 (2023), 968 (2024); Eurostat has no value for 2020 and 2022.1,457 (2025)Source: Eurostat – Passenger cars by type of motor energy (road_eqs_carpda) · dataset updated 01.09.2026 · high reliability
New battery-electric passenger cars registered, 2025Eurostat new registrations with energy type 'electricity'. Earlier years: 20 (2021), 203 (2023), 372 (2024); no value for 2020 and 2022.539Source: Eurostat – New registrations of passenger cars by type of motor energy (road_eqr_carpda) · dataset updated 01.09.2026 · high reliability
Electric cars imported, January–August 2026Kosovo Customs data as reported. Import value €11.5 million, against €11 million in the whole of 2025.780, of which 665 from ChinaSource: Gazeta Express – China takes the wheel in Kosovo's EV market · 27.09.2026 · medium reliability

Public charging

How many public chargers: no official count. ECHARGE states '24+' stations and names cities in Kosovo and Albania, without a list; Radio Free Europe (06.04.2026) reported 32 ECHARGE charge points in the Prishtina region, on the Prishtina–Tirana route and in Albania. RapidCharge shows 2 stations in Prishtina and HIB Petrol gives no number. The local-language map on this site showed 21 locations on 28.09.2026, merged from Open Charge Map (17 records) and OpenStreetMap (5 records) and not checked one by one. Source: ECHARGE · 28.09.2026 · medium reliability

NetworkSizePricesPayment
ECHARGEElectric Mobility LLC (App Store seller name)App: ECHARGE'24+' stations (operator's figure, with cities in Kosovo and Albania; no list published); DC 75–480 kW, AC up to 22 kW; CCS2, Type 2 and GB/T at some stations
DC €0.39–0.49 per kWhSource: echarge-ks.com · checked 28.09.2026 · high reliability
AC, day / night €0.21 / €0.19 per kWhSource: echarge-ks.com · checked 28.09.2026 · high reliability
In the ECHARGE app; payment without the app (card terminal, QR code or web) not stated
HIB PetrolHIB PetrolUltra-fast charging 'at many' of its fuel stations in Kosovo, per the operator; number not published. Equipment listed: Siemens Super D Charger 300 kW, ABB Terra 360 kW
Per kWh not published
Not stated. The HIB Petrol app on Google Play is a fuel and loyalty app; its description does not mention charging
RapidChargeUmbo SHPK (App Store seller name)App: Rapid Charge (iPhone, Android)2 stations in Prishtina shown on the operator's website
Per kWh not published; the website's example session (22 kW, €4.80) is an illustration, not a tariff
In the app by credit or debit card or digital payment; a session can be capped at a euro amount. Payment without the app not stated
Shell Recharge (Kosovo)Al Petrol (Shell licensee in Kosovo)Number of sites not found; the first Shell Recharge charger in Kosovo was presented in Prizren in January 2020 (Periskopi, 16.01.2020)
Per kWh not found
Not stated

Electricity at home

What a kilowatt-hour costs at home — the number to compare with public charging.

TariffPriceSource
Households up to 800 kWh a month, day / nightTariffs from 01.05.2025 (ERO decision V_2703_2025); ERO left retail prices unchanged for 2026. With 8% VAT (calculated): 9.77 / 4.19 cents. The low (night) tariff applies 22:00–07:00 from 1 October to 31 March and 23:00–08:00 from 1 April to 30 September. A fixed monthly charge comes on top (see below).9.05 / 3.88 euro cents per kWh without VAT (VAT 8%)Source: Buletini Ekonomik – ERO approves tariffs without an increase · 07.05.2026 · medium reliability
Households above 800 kWh a month, day / nightNight rate: 7.28 according to Dukagjini (16.04.2025, the day of the decision) and four later reports, consistent with the announced 16.1% rise (checked); only Fikso (16.04.2025) gives 7.21. With 8% VAT (calculated): 16.66 / 7.86 cents. ERO and KESCO do not say whether these prices apply only to the kWh above 800.15.43 / 7.28 euro cents per kWh without VATSource: Dukagjini – ERO formalises the decision: electricity 16.1% dearer from 1 May · 16.04.2025 · medium reliability
Fixed monthly charge, householdsSingle source: Buletini Ekonomik reports that the April 2025 tariff decision raised it from €2.00 to €2.32. Whether the 8% VAT applies to it is not stated. It is paid with or without an electric car.€2.32 per customer per monthSource: Buletini Ekonomik – the fixed charge increase · 22.10.2025 · medium reliability
Fuel for comparison (late September 2026)No official fuel price found. Indicative prices of one retailer (Petrol Company, 25.09.2026: diesel €1.94, petrol €1.62) and a media report (Periskopi, 27.09.2026: €1.95 and €1.65); VAT not stated.diesel €1.94–1.95/l, petrol €1.62–1.65/lSource: Petrol Company – prices · 25.09.2026 · medium reliability

Subsidies

No scheme Tax relief for electric vehicles

Electric cars pay the same import taxes as petrol and diesel cars: 10% customs duty, 18% VAT and, on used cars, a fixed excise of about €400–700 by age (Gazeta Express, 27.09.2026; Radio Free Europe, 06.04.2026). RTV21 (06.09.2025) reported €400 for an electric car and €10 for a hybrid; the customs tariff itself could not be read, so the exact excise is not confirmed. On 28.08.2024 the Government approved a zero registration tax for electric cars in the draft Law on Vehicles, but in April 2026 Radio Free Europe reported no import or registration relief. The Kosovo Chamber of Commerce has asked to remove the customs duty and cut VAT to 8%; the ministries did not answer the newspaper's questions.

Source: Gazeta Express – China takes the wheel in Kosovo's EV market · 27.09.2026 · medium reliability
No scheme Purchase grant

No purchase subsidy and no municipal benefit found (checked 28.09.2026).

Charging in an apartment building

What the law says about a charger in a shared garage or parking lot — who has to agree, who pays for the electricity and how it is metered.

Apartment buildings

The condominium law in force does not mention garages, parking or EV chargers. Ordinary decisions of the owners' association need owners holding more than 50% of the co-ownership (art. 14); works beyond regular administration, including changes to the co-owned parts, need the consent of all owners (art. 32). Which of the two applies to a charger in a shared garage is not stated.

Law: Ligji nr. 03/L-091 për shfrytëzimin, administrimin dhe mirëmbajtjen e ndërtesës në bashkëpronësi, arts. 14, 28 and 32 (adopted 12.03.2009; Official Gazette no. 51, 15.04.2009; no amendment shown)

Source: Official Gazette – Law No. 03/L-091 · checked 28.09.2026 · high reliability

National plans and EU rules

  • The Energy Strategy 2022–2031, as reviewed, sets no numeric target for electric vehicles or charging stations; Radio Free Europe (06.04.2026) wrote that it foresees about 15,000 electric cars by 2031. The two could not be reconciled. Source: me.rks-gov.net · medium reliability
  • Prishtina's 2021 e-taxi licensing call requires each licensed operator to install two DC chargers of at least 50 kW, one of them in public space and reported as free for all citizens; whether these chargers exist and are free today was not verified. Source: prishtinaonline.com · 02.11.2021 · medium reliability

What could not be verified

Known gaps. If you can fill one with a public source, write to hello@blokvolt.com.

  • ERO's 2025 tariff decision (V_2703_2025) publishes its tariff table as an image, so household prices come from media; the number of the 2026 decision was not found.
  • ERO and KESCO do not say whether the above-800 kWh prices apply only to the kWh above 800; the fixed monthly charge (€2.32) comes from a single source.
  • It is not stated whether ECHARGE prices include VAT, which sites get €0.39 vs €0.49, or which hours count as day and night.
  • The excise on imported electric cars comes from media only (€400–700 by age for used cars vs €400 per electric car); the customs tariff could not be read. Whether the Assembly passed the zero registration tax for electric cars was not checked.
  • The share of GB/T connectors among imported Chinese EVs is not documented.
  • No fast charger on the R6 or R7 motorways was confirmed. The latest source found on motorway tolls (Radio Free Europe, 16.05.2021) says they are toll-free; no 2025–2026 confirmation.

Something changed or is missing? Data is corrected from public sources and on request — free, by the same rules for everyone. Send the correction with a link to hello@blokvolt.com.

Other countries: Serbia · Montenegro · Bosnia and Herzegovina · North Macedonia · Croatia · Slovenia · Albania